If you are convicted of DUI in the State of Washington, you must apply for an ignition interlock driver’s license, and drive only vehicles equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device.
Designed to prevent future DUIs, an ignition interlock device, similar to a Breathalyzer, is installed directly in your vehicle’s ignition in a manner that allows you to blow into it while driving. Your car will not start up until you breathe into the device and it analyzes your breath alcohol content (BAC). If your BAC is at or above .025%, your vehicle will not start, and the failed test will be reported to the court or probation.
Having a Washington State ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle is not cheap. Installation costs vary from $50 to $200, depending on the company you choose. Once installed, you will also have to pay a monthly rental fee of approximately $60 to $120. You will have to have the device calibrated every 60 days, also at your own expense, and you may be liable for any damage to the device while it is in your vehicle.
Once an ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle, it is virtually impossible to start your car without breathing into the device. If you tamper with the device, it will be recorded in the device’s memory and reported to authorities. Tampering with an ignition interlock device is a criminal offense, carrying a penalty of up to 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Some may think that having another person start the car for the by blowing into the device will avoid a failed test, but this is actually a very bad idea. A Washington State ignition interlock device is programmed to require random breath tests while the car is being driven / running. If the driver fails to blow, the vehicle’s lights will begin flashing, its horn will trigger, and the driver will have to pull off the roadway immediately.
An ignition interlock driver’s license is available for most Washington DUI offenders who reside in the state. It allows them to drive legally while their license is suspended or revoked for DUI. To apply, a person must submit the IIDL application to DOL, along with an application fee, and proof of SR22 insurance and interlock installation.
If you’ve been charged with DUI, it is important to have an experienced legal professional on your side. The best DUI attorneys in Washington State are those with the most knowledge about these cases and the many ways they can be won for their clients. Ms. Callahan is the author of the legal reference book that lawyers and judges turn to for the law in DUI in Washington.
We can help. Don’t let one mistake have a drastic impact on your daily life. We are here for you 24/7/365. The sooner you call us for your free consultation, the better you’ll feel.